1st African Cichlid tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jaderman

Aquarium Advice Newbie
First I want to say "Hi" and I am new to the forum.

Second I am looking to set up my 1st ever African Cichlid tank. I have had tropical tanks all my life but they have been mainly community fish and this is my first time going to cichlids and this will also be the biggest tank I have ever had. I am curently in the process of slowly putting together this tank and it probably wont be up and ready to go until late February. I have recently purchased a 55 gallon tank, 55 gallon-rated heater, and 55 gallon under gravel filter, I plan to put a 100 gallon hang on filter on this as well. I have read on some other websites and have heard from some friends that African cichlids are much harder to take care of than the community fish I have previously had. I heard somethig about they need to be in slightly alkaline water, and you cant have live plants with them, as well as very rigid compatibility issues (I am aware they are an agressive breed and can't just be mixed with ANYTHING). I guess that I am just looking for some insight and tips to help me to learn to care for this breed of fish.
Thanks! :p
Joe