Cichlid tank ????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ADCISCO

Aquarium Advice Freak
What would be the right number of cichlid for a 10 gallon tank, 29 gallon tank and a 55 gallon tank......I'm new at this. I have 5 in a 10 gallon right now and want to get some more...I do have another unused 10 gallon tank. I am in love with these little guys. They are so pretty and I just would love to have some that I can watch that are intersting and these little guys are very intersting! So fun to watch! They are all young but one is getting bigger than the rest and he has to be the center of attention at all times.LOL

For most African cichlids I would suggest a minimum of a 55g until you figure out precisely what fish you have.

Check out some of these articles on setting up tanks for these beautiful cichlids, and more information about their space requirements:

http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/rift_lake_setup.php
http://malawicichlids.com/mw01019.htm
http://www.malawicichlidhomepage.com/aquainfo/malawi9.html#space
Mbuna aggression: http://www.african.uklinux.net/phpBB/viewtopic.php?topic=449&forum=25&6
An article on the tanks in LFSes labeled "Mixed African Cichlids": http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/mixed_africans.php

At present, you should cycle a 55g and place your 5 in there IMO.

Then (or now) you can research all of the species, see what needs to be moved, and then work on how and what you are going to add next.