Cichlids & knifefish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

guychiclid

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, I'll start by saying I'm new to the aquatic world meaning I started my first aquarium last month, I have 10 a.c, a Texas cichlid and a pleco. All the cichlids are still pretty small I bought all of them at around the same size 3" - 4" and I was wondering if it's ok to add a clown or a royal knifefish in there mainly because I don't want to keep it strictly cichlids. I got a 45 gal tank. And right now with all the fish already there for a little more than three weeks it looks kinda empty.

What are a.c.? african cichlids? If so that Texas once it matures will make short work of the other fish. I wouldn't add a knife. Heck I'd get rid of the Texas if you don't want a bloodbath down the line.

Both those knives get way to big for that tank also. I wouldn't add anything, I'd get rid of the Texas and pleco and just keep the Africans. If it's a 36" tank 10 Africans may be to many depending on species as well.

Oh welcome to AA though! Didn't even realize that was your first post. Cichlids can be tough to get right. Even though they're all small now once they grow up they will get more territorial and aggressive. Sorry if I came off wrong, don't want to scare off a new person :(. Just trying to see everyone succeed

Didn't scare me at all thanks for the advice. Now as for the Texas it seems to be pretty quiet. At first it was really dominating but now he׳s just another fish in there. I've seen many tanks combining cichlids and a knifefish. But I'd like to know if not a knifefish then what fish can I add because the tank as it is now is pretty empty.

What about a synodontis catfish of some type. They're very cool and go well with cichlids.

And do Africans get along with Americans or other type cichlids?