Halp ! Complete Newbie to cichlids, having problems after 6 weeks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

samspade

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all, have bought the following 6 weeks ago and started my Aquarium

2 x Maingano
2 x electric yellow
2 x Livingstoni
3 x Dogtooth (i think, they look like these)
2 x Small orange
2 x catfish.

Now they were all bought from an aquarium and the owner told me that i chose a good combination.
4 weeks ago, i started having some problems though.

one of my Maingano died and i found it sitting behind one of my decorative caves, now after reading information online, i think she was killed because she wouldn't mate with the other one who was a male.
i still freaked out and changed 25% of water, got Ph up to blue on my tester ( which is where i was told by the aquarium owner to get it ) and did an ammonia test which came back at zero, i also went and bought another maingano which i thought was a female.
2 days later, my original maingano started having what looked like 10 second seizures, and it seemed paralyzed at his tail. it ended up dying, so i took him back to the aquarium, and he told me that he had been attacked and killed, he said the fish looked round and healthy, but showed me attack marks on it.
We both decided that i should venture away from buying another Maingano to avoid more heartbreak, so i settled on a red emperor.
For the last week, my male electric yellow had been sitting behind a formation, right under my heater and would sit there like he was protecting that area, i put it down to him protecting his area. that was until yesterday morning when i noticed what looked almost like a scratch just under his eye ( More like a bite ). i just thought he had been nicked.