Help with quarantine tank for blue rams.. - they're in!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

elliott_001

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have decided to give blue rams a try. Im thinking of buying a pair. Im also planning to quarantine them for about 2 weeks. I have never done this to new fish before introducing them to main tank, but i'm aware of blue rams sensitivity to water parameters and so on.

I have a small plastic tank i can use to quarantine, i have an air stone, filter and thermostat. The filter media is always in my brothers large external filter to keep it 'cycled', so i will just whip it of there and put it in the small tank filter.

I know qt tanks are normally minimalistic, but what should i add to keep the rams happy?? I have some fake plants i could use, or some live ones from my tank, an ornament, or cave? No substrate?

TIA.

you could put small amounts of substrate in the tank, just so they feel more comfertable, but it may not be neccisary. The one thing that I would recomend highly is to make sure that the tank is at least 10 us gallons. I tried to keep a breeding pair of blue rams in a 5g temporarily (no onger than 7 days) while they bread but it freaked them out and I could tell that they were gong down hill fast in that tank. In a ten gallon they did fine and spawned. and you could always put something in their for them to hide around to make them nnot feel like they are out in the open.

Thanks for the advice, i will add some sand. I dont have anything as large as 10 gal, id say its more like 5! but im not sure.

A hospital or QT need not be fancy or expensive, and can also serve breeding purposes. Since I got a new digital camera just before I made one, I have some pics at:

http://home.comcast.net/~tomstank/tomstank_files/page0019.htm