Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2011, 11:03 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
New ~50 gal Aquarium finally

been meaning to upgrade from my 40Gal long to a 55 Gal. That I was getting from my uncle.. (55 was also the 48in long tank)

turns out I got a tank form a guy sat work. it is a 58 Gal tall, need to measure the length, but I got the tank, filter, light, some Driftwood, everything except substrate, heater, stand and a hood.

I will be setting this one up and moving all of my Cichlids to it.

Couple questions:

once I get it filled with water and cycling, would it help to take some of the water from my current tank to get it started?

Also I am thinking of doing Black Sand at the bottom.. what is the best place to get that at?

This new tank will go in my finished basement to keep it away from the sun light that my current tank gets.

__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:26 AM   #2
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
There is very little amounts of beneficial bacteria in the water so the best bet would be either run that filter on your current tank to seed it for a couple of weeks or use media from your current filter in the new one, this will almost instantly cycle your new set up.

I use black Tahitian Moon sand in all but one of my tanks and the best place is Drfostersmith since they ship for free.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maddybrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Outside Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 1,592
I don't think water would help. But the filter media would and some substrate. Or the decor. That's where the bacteria live.
__________________
I like Fish.... you know the kind that live in water...
maddybrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:34 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Thanks for the info.. I have not looked at all of it yet, but if the medias are both the same, then I can run a old media from the old tank in the new, but if they are different how do I approach that?

my 40 Gal has a Penguin BioWheel 350, I was told the one I got is a Biowheel as well, but not sure which model (I did not look to close)

going to take a while, not sure if I will buy a stand or build one.. need another heater too. I figure I will set-up the new, move the fish then break down the old tank
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:37 AM   #5
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
I would just run the new one on the old tank until your ready for set up, it's a win/win the old set can't have to much filtration and when the new setup is ready you'll have no cycle issues to worry about.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:38 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by HUKIT View Post

I use black Tahitian Moon sand in all but one of my tanks and the best place is Drfostersmith since they ship for free.
this stuff?
Aquarium Substrate for Marine Aquariums: CaribSea Instant Aquarium Substrate Tahitian Moon



I think the Tank is about 18x30 on the bottom ( need to measure) how much sand will I need?
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:39 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maddybrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Outside Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 1,592
It usually says on the bag.. I think it's 2 pounds per gallon?
__________________
I like Fish.... you know the kind that live in water...
maddybrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:41 AM   #8
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=Jeff=- View Post
this stuff?
Aquarium Substrate for Marine Aquariums: CaribSea Instant Aquarium Substrate Tahitian Moon



I think the Tank is about 18x30 on the bottom ( need to measure) how much sand will I need?
Yes that's stuff. I perfer deep sand beds of 3-4" so I would shoot for 80lbs. Here's a substrate calculator.

http://www.plantedtank.net/substratecalculator.html
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:42 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by HUKIT View Post
Yes that's stuff. I perfer deep sand beds of 3-4" so I would shoot for 80lbs.

Substrate Calculator

Good thing this tank will be in the basement.. LOL
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:11 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr.Albiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 611
Isn't that substrate for Marine tanks? Or does is not make a difference? Good luck with your tank!
__________________
Mr.Albiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:13 PM   #11
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Albiman View Post
Isn't that substrate for Marine tanks? Or does is not make a difference? Good luck with your tank!
Can be used for either application, there are no buffering capabilites with this sand.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:38 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr.Albiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 611
Oh right, just checking
Didn't want the pH to be all messed up!
__________________
Mr.Albiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 02:09 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
yeah I was unsure at first, but it does state for Salt and Fresh tanks in the description

Next qeustion is what is the recommended heater?
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 02:18 PM   #14
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
The Eheim/Jagers is all I use since the Stealths went south and could not be more pleased with appearence and function. I would use the 200w model.

Aquarium Heaters: Eheim Jager Thermostat Heater at fosterandsmithaquatics.com
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 02:32 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Sweet, thanks.. looks like I will place an order once I get/build a stand
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 09:27 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Well I measured the new tank tonight

30x18x21.. Calculates to about 50 gal not 60 Gal.

it looks smaller then my 40 gal long, but will work nicely..

It cam with a Penguin 350 just like I have but is missing a few pieces and there is no media with it. wonder if the cost of the wheels and the gear for the middle will be more then buying a new filter..
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:29 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Bl80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Posts: 576
What kind of cichlids are you planning on putting in there? Not much room for most to have their own territories, which may end up in aggression issues.
__________________
"Why does Sea World have a sea food restaurant?? I am half way thru my fish burger when I realize, OMG I could be eating a SLOW LEARNER!!" ~Lynda Montgomery
Bl80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:31 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
I have 2 mbunas and the rest I got from a co-worker.. not sure what they are exactly.. in my 40 they seem fine and have been that way for a year so far

__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:37 PM   #19
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
That's a Aulonacara baenschi 'benga' peacock not a mbuna.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:39 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by HUKIT View Post
That's a Aulonacara baenschi 'benga' peacock not a mbuna.
Thanks

that is the one I had no clue on

these are a mbuna (old pics):



Orange one in Foreground
__________________
-=Jeff=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clear plastic pipeline aquarium Yavindish DIY Projects 6 07-28-2011 10:00 AM
How long can aquarium safely go without power? sdrone Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 24 07-14-2011 10:38 AM
thinking of starting a sw aquarium .. have a few questions kathleen55 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 07-13-2011 12:22 AM
Fluval Edge Aquarium Hubert90 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 24 07-06-2011 12:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.