New Cichlid Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hatterz

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, I'm fairly new to cihlids and have a new 10 gallon tank with two young convict cichlids. I did a lot of research ahead of time and was feeling good about keeping them in a 10 gallon until later moving them into my 30g tank. I'm almost 100% sure they are male and female, they are barely larger than 1 inch. They have only been in the tank 1 day and the male owns the entire tank so far, the female will actually stay in the top corner of the tank and the male will chase her endlessly if she comes down. There are a couple caves and 1 plant in the tank. I've seen videos and read a lot of people have successfully kept a pair in a 10 gallon, so I figured while they were still young I shouldn't have much trouble until I moved them. Am I worried to much and should give it more time, or does my male have to big an ego. thanks!!!!

Welcome to Aquarium Advice.