Ps. Saulosi holding

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

coldmachineUK

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi, I have a female pseudotropheus saulosi who seems to be holding (not eating, and the usual bloated look). This is my first time with spawning cichlids, and I have read lots of things about removing the female, or stripping her, or leaving her, and really I'm quite confused about the best course of action.
Right now, because I'm not worried about having a whole batch of fry survive, and bearing in mind it's her (and my!) first time since she's only 8 months old she may swallow them or spit them anyway, I just wondered if it would be best leaving her in the tank and letting nature take its course? I will remove any fry I see swimming about to increase chances of survival though, but am I ok leaving the female for now?

(Edited: It gets better: my dominant female is also holding! She was obviously not liking being left out :p lol).

That's a tough question and one that only you can answer. First you have to answer these questions:

Do you have a tank that you can put her in until she spits or is stripped?

Do you have the means (read space) to grow out the fry?

Do you have a plan to redistribute the fry when they get to be 1 to 1.5"?

Did she spawn with a male of the same species?

I have a 20 gal tank with 23 1/2" fry in it right now. I chose to seperate the mothers. I stripped the first one (Melanochromis cyaneorhabdos) and the second mom (Pseudotropheus socolofi - albino) spit on her own during the Thanksgiving break. She ate some but 10 of them managed to survive in the tank until I was able to return her to the main tank.

Shucks, I was hoping there'd be an easy quick fix!

Well, here are my answers to those questions:

Do you have a tank that you can put her in until she spits or is stripped?