Red Zebra Holding -If or when to strip??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kyanite

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to mouth brooders and am reading a lot of conflicting information. I have a young female who is holding her first brood and I am unsure when or if I should strip (force her to release). This is her first time and she is very young, about 2.5" I don't know how long she has been holding and only notices about a week ago, two days ago it became clear the most or all of her eggs have hatched. She has been moved to a small tank and she is yet to release her young. I am concerned about her for a few reason for one her colour has faded quite a bit and her gills are very red and she is flaring them. She is still very young and small, one of the smaller females I have and I know that they do get quite thin when holding which she is. What I would like to know is it better to let her continue holding her young and if so foe how much longer or if I would be safer to strip her. Any advice from someone with experience would be appreciated.

Attachments

• 100_2644.jpg
    100_2644.jpg
    62.7 KB · Views: 523
You could drop a PM to a user called dizzcat. She has a ton of experience in this area.... Good luck!

Welcome to AA :) Congrats on a holding female! I dont have any experience with them, but i will hopefully as i have a bumblebee thats holding :) I say let her spit them on her own. From what ive heard from several friends who have had several batches of fry, the female will really look bad for a while because they dont generally eat and it is a pretty hard job taking care of those fry. You might search through the members and shoot dizzcat a pm... she has quite a bit of experience with mbuna, and several pictures of her red zebras holding.

EDIT: Me and spoonman had the same idea lol