Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Nano Reefs
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-21-2011, 09:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
200 gallon reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
Office tank

I am looking at setting up a tank in my office at work. Is a nano tank the way to go? What characteristics of a nano tank help make it easier to maintain?
__________________

__________________
200 gallon reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
medic747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 188
Are you at the office everyday a d what size nano are u wanting
__________________

__________________
55 gal. FW chiclid
10 gal. FW feeder breeder
medic747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
redsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 8,066
I think a nano would be nice at your office. However, instead of being easier, sometimes nanos can be more difficult because there is such a small water volume. That means that there is smaller space for you to make an error.
__________________
Please don't forget about the toxins in some corals (like zoas and palythoas)
180 gallon reef announcement!:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMgmb124jrs&t=35s
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 10:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
200 gallon reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
I am at the office mon thru friday. I am looking around a 29 gallon.
__________________
200 gallon reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 02:45 AM   #5
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 585
I don't think there r any characteristics that make it easier to maintain. Except maybe not as much glass that u have to clean. HaHa
__________________
Crabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 01:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
200 gallon reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
What would u suggest for an office tank?
__________________
200 gallon reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 01:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200 gallon reef
What would u suggest for an office tank?
60g cube.
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 02:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
200 gallon reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
That sounds nice!
__________________
200 gallon reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 02:43 PM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 585
Honestly? Depending on how busy u are and whether or not u have time to mess with it. Once everything is up and running smoothly.( Which can take awhile ) the BioCubes r pretty nice and somewhat trouble free except for the regular Maint. I suggest purchasing the tank and buying the upgrades simultaneously. Pump, filter basket with Chemipure Elite and Purigen media. Some modification is required. But it's pretty basic and simple. U can get all the help needed here on AA. I have a Bio14 that I like very much. But I hear much praise on the BioCube 29
__________________
Crabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 02:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
Its possible. Just dont feed for the weekends and get a timer for the lights
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 05:31 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
200 gallon reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
Yea. . . The biocube 29 sounds good. . . .do they come with skimmer and the whole system?
__________________
200 gallon reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 05:34 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200 gallon reef
Yea. . . The biocube 29 sounds good. . . .do they come with skimmer and the whole system?
No, just the lights and filtration. They don't even need a skimmer. The lighting will also need to be upgraded with something like 1-2 led Promodules
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 05:46 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
200 gallon reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
No way! Really? Y is that?
__________________
200 gallon reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 06:37 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200 gallon reef
No way! Really? Y is that?
The Powercompacts aren't strong strong enough to keep most LPS
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 06:42 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
200 gallon reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
Y is there no protein skimmer needed?
__________________
200 gallon reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 07:19 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200 gallon reef
Y is there no protein skimmer needed?
It's a small tank so there's not as much waste to skim. Water changes will do
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 07:20 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
200 gallon reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
Oh ok .
__________________
200 gallon reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 08:07 PM   #18
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 585
I've never heard anyone needing additional lighting for the 29, unless of course u want SPS. That's news to me
__________________
Crabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 08:54 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabs
I've never heard anyone needing additional lighting for the 29, unless of course u want SPS. That's news to me
Even for LPS that's the absolute bare minimum.
__________________

__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish-in Cycling: Step over into the dark side. jetajockey Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 55 10-15-2016 02:22 PM
Green Spotted Puffer Profile Terrance Freshwater & Brackish - Fish or Plant Profiles 2 12-31-2012 11:30 AM
Starting a new planted tank... aprlshwrs Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 11-18-2011 10:21 PM
New 29 Gallon Tank! Stocking question and more! gobullschi Nano Reefs 8 09-17-2011 12:23 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.