i visited my lfs today

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zypher

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i visited my lfs today to grab some fish food...as i'm walking around looking at the clowns i hear one of the workers talking to a customer who was interested in starting a sw tank...i'm thinking to myself that i had done hours of research and asked multiple questions in other stores and on this forum (as well as others) before i even went and bought my tank...i'm still really new to this but i try to walk into lfs atleast somewhat prepared...this guy and his kid went $700 deep on everything..and walked out with fish...among the things i saw: tank, stand, 1 heater, 1 ph, some live rock, a bucket of salt, API quickstart...i wish him the best of luck...but i was always advised against impulse buys...hope he doesn't destroy those fish...

I bought my first sw tank on a whim. They were selling biocubes half price and they caught me in a moment of weekness. Before I knew it I was at home with a cube, sand, liverock and googling what on earth I was doing...lol I was hooked right away though cause my liverock had 2 hitchhiking mushrooms and some star fish. I thought that was so cool...

If he gave him some damsels/chromis then its not that uncommon...fish in cycles are the easiest way to go and I've actually done on every tank other then my current cycling seahorse tank but don't get me wrong the majority of the time the lfs will feed you as much BS as they need to make a sale which is sad..I work with animals for a living and love my job so I do what's best for the animals so I hate seeing people working in petstores and only see it as a job..they should be thankful they're doing that instead of flipping burgers for the same or less money :(