Just received my LR and am soaking it...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

33w_fish_guy

Aquarium Advice Regular
for my husband! He posts on here, but since he is at work, I got the joy of opening the rock box! It came later than we expected, and the box was warm to the touch, as were the rocks when I moved them from the shipping carton to the soak box. ( I don't know what you call the place you dip the rocks in!)

I don't know how long you are supposed to keep them in the soak box for, but all I have seen appear have been worms and little bugs. I did find a clam loose in the box, but it was D.O.A.

Do most LR have stars, crabs, mantis, and all that stuff? Do you think the only thing that survived were the bugs and worms? Should I have soaked the papery stuff in there, too?

Sorry for all the ????'s. You can see I'm no fish expert.
Moni

Opening LR is like Christmas, huh? First off, who did you order it from? How long was it in transit? What did it smell like when you opened the box?

My husband ordered it from marinedepotlive. When I opened the box, it stunk, and still stinks.

It left yesterday afternoon from the company, and it arrived this afternoon around 2pm. We live in AZ so the box and the rock was warm when it was delivered. I openend it right away, and the smell wasn't
"pleasant."

What should we do?

Moni

The curing process will take some time and it will stink big time. So I suggest that you place the container outside or in your garage. You seem to have started good so far.

Below is a curing method that I got from LiveAquaria.com:

"Method A: Curing process of live rock for the established display aquarium that already contains fish, corals, or any other marine animals.

Place the live rock in a new 30-gallon plastic garbage can. Consider adding bottom drains to the container to speed draining and water changes.