Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-01-2012, 10:29 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Seahorses: Need advice

I have a 20g tank attached to a 150, so bioload is not an issue. I have 2 clowns in the 20, and am getting a mandarin in awhile. I love seahorses, and was wondering if I could get a pair if I fed extra, I could keep the seahorses. Would the amount of food needed get to the seahorses if I fed extra? I also have a fighting conch and 2 peps in that tank. Would a banded pipefish be ok? Again, bioload is not an issue.

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 10:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Actually, I would much rather prefer just to get alot of dwarf seahorses. Ive heard that they like to be in groups of 4 or more, so I may try 10 or something like that. The clowns are around an inch, so would they kill the seahorses if the seahorses were 0.5-1.5 inches?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 10:57 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
redsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 8,066
I am not sure that I would try to mix Clownfish with Seahorses. If the Clownfish didn't kill the Seahorses, they would probably outcompete them for food.
__________________
Please don't forget about the toxins in some corals (like zoas and palythoas)
180 gallon reef announcement!:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMgmb124jrs&t=35s
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 11:03 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Thats what I thought, but since bioload isnt an issue, could I feed extra so everyone got whats needed?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 11:10 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 312
Seahorses typically do best in a species only tank. They do not like a lot of flow at all and are very passive eaters. The clowns will try and eat all the food u put in no matter how much they have already eaten.
__________________
FDshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 11:21 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
My grouper stops eating after I feed him enough. Thats the only way I can feed my other fish. Will the clowns kill them? And will the dwarfs accept frozan mysis?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 11:24 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 312
They may they may that is not an answer u can give a def yes or no question to. I would def guess that they would at least bother them. If this tank is attached to ur 150 how much flow u have thru it?
__________________
FDshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 11:32 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I really dont know what the pump is rated for but it is very weak so I added like a 300gph powerhead to it. Its pretty powerful but I could move it. Do you know if the horses would accept frozen brinse/mysis? I could get bigger sea horses if needed to make the clowns act better towards them. I also heard that they only eat baby brine so could I get other horses?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 11:39 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 312
No matter how big they are the clowns are much faster stronger more aggressive fish so if there gonna go after then the size wont matter. The frozen shrimp I think that will be on an indivual basis whether they take it or not. Ask to see them eat before you get them. And they prb wont like that power head in there.
__________________
FDshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 11:57 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I can move the PH. I could use it in my sump to get more flow across the LR. Wouldnt they be less likely to pick on bigger ones though? And thx for the help so far. Do the dwarfs only eat live brine or will they eat frozen?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:02 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 312
I think u can get them to eat frozen but I kinda think its the same story as manderians maybe maybe not. And u don't think the size really matters they are so docile that if the clowns decide to attack them they will regardless of size.
__________________
FDshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:09 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Alright thank you sooooooooooooooo much. I may be ordering a couple from LA. Heres a link.
Dwarf Seahorse
Can I breed brine in my sump?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:12 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 312
I wouldn't breed them in your dump just set up a plastic container. I have never done but it its extremly easy from what I've read. You just gotta make sure u feed the brine to whatever ur feeding between hrs 8-12 of there life. Supposedly they lose there nutritional value after that and just becomes a tasty snack.
__________________
FDshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:15 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Sadly I cant set up anything to breed them in. Im 13 with 5 tanks soooooo.................................. ya. LOL. Would I be able to breed them in my sump? With no rock in it I could just scoop a net through every day or so and just give to the horses. What do brine eat?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:19 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Im not going with the dwarfs theyre too expensive. Ill give my LFS a visit next weekend and just get normal ones.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:20 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 312
Honestly all u need is tupperware container with an airstone and a heater that easy. Not sure on sump I think the eggs would get into the water column and go everywhere. The idea is to have them in seperate tank/container so u can just take a cup out at feeding time.
__________________
FDshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:24 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 312
Or if the brine do constantly breedin your sump it would be a good thing cuz it would be a constant food source for the seahorses just like pods I am just not sure if it works? Sry
__________________
FDshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:24 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Really? A tupperware with an airstone/heater? Ok, may be able to do that. How big of a container? And you have to feed them right? What do they eat?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:26 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I was thinking of that. Maybe ill just add a little to the sump and see if it works. THX
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:28 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 312
I can't remember all the details right now about how to do it sry just remember reading its fairly simple. Google breeding brine shrimp. I looked into it a couple months ago and can't remember all the details. But I did find good articles googling it.
__________________
FDshoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
seahorse, seahorses

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Too small for seahorses? Seahorse37 Nano Reefs 12 12-18-2011 01:16 AM
New setup....need advice justin85 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-25-2011 01:30 PM
need clear advice goldfishies Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 07-07-2011 11:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.