Sump questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dwculp

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am VERY new to SW, about one week new in fact. I currently have a 29 gallon FO tank with a Percula Clown. I decided I did not like the 29 gallon after I set it up and went and bought a 40 gallon that is lower, wider and longer than the 29 gallon (36X18X16). It provides far more surface area for gas exchange and evaporative cooling than the 29 gallon, I can use more powerful lights on it and it is lower than the 29 gallon.

I thought I might be able to use the 29 gallon as a sump to add more water volume and to hide some of the equipment. However, I do not understand sumps.

For example, you generally have some sort of overflow into the sump, since mine is an AGA aquarium and not drilled I would have to use something like a hang on the back overflow. The overflow flows into the sump and a return pump inside the sump returns the water.

What if your return pump fails, wouldnt the overflow continue to flow into the sump, eventually overflowing the sump and causing a big mess. What if the reverse happened and the overflow failed somehow. Wouldnt the return pump eventually run dry and pump all the sump volume into the main tank, overflowing the main tank.

Does anyone have a good website or book recommendation that explains sumps in great detail for a newbie like me?

You are exactly correct to be considering the "what happens if..." scenarios. Here's what you do: