Water not crystal clear =(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bjj_junkie

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello everyone, I'm still new to this hobby and this is my first reef tank so I'm not sure how long some things take. My tank has been running for a month and one week and from my understanding I'm done or in the very last stages of cycling. My question here is that I find a slight haze in my water and I don't know why. Is it too early to worry about this? I mean the water is clear but not crystal clear. The tank is 4 feet long and if you view it from side to side you can really notice the haze. I'm running an mp40 and I have Fiji pink sand, could this be the cause? Maybe dust from the sand? I know I don't need to be running the mp40 now since I don't have livestock but I thought it would be better to have the circulation. I read that running carbon could help but I also read it could be bad for sps in the future... I'm open to any suggestions, thanks in advanced

I had an alge problem and that milky cloudy you see I had also bought a 40 uv sterlizer for my tank and omg a week later is crystal clear though you may need to look into it it's more then likely a high nutrient or something get a test kit but my uv did wonders

I had an alge problem and that milky cloudy you see I had also bought a 40 uv sterlizer for my tank and omg a week later is crystal clear though you may need to look into it it's more then likely a high nutrient or something get a test kit but my uv did wonders

Thank you, which uv did you go with?... I haven't got one because I read mixed thoughts on running one with a refugium. Do you run it 24/7?

what type of mechanical filtration do you have. better question is what type of filtration do you currently have