Water Parameters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nolan99

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have had my reef tank up and running with live rock for almost 5 months now. I have recently had a green hair algae outbreak that I have begun solving by adding more flow to the tank and adding carbon and PhosBan. I have noticed that the green hair algae is beginning to die. This is a 27 gallon display tank with a 7 gallon sump. I right now have an acan frag and a zoanthid frag. I am a beginner to reefing and I want to now that the algae is beginning to die off, get ready to add more corals. I have talked to a person at my LFS and he told me that the key to keeping corals is making sure you have low to zero nitrates and phosphates, and most importantly to make sure the pH, Alkalinity, Calcium, and Magnesium are in the ideal ranges. I have just recently tested my water parameters and I have noticed all are low except the Alkalinity which is in the ideal range. Here are my parameters, and please let me know what I can do to fix those that are wrong. If you see anything else that is wrong please let me know how I can fix it. Lastly, how do I know when PhosBan is used up? All help is appreciated, Thanks!
Temperature: 78.5 degrees F
Salinity: 1.024
pH: 8.0
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 0 ppm
Calcium: 340 ppm
Alkalinity: 9-10 degrees dKH
Phosphate: .25 ppm
Magnesium: 1170 ppm
Dissolved Oxygen: 7 ppm

Well you'll want the phosphates to go lower, but you are on the right path. .03 is around the area people who keep sps corals like to aim for. I keep my tank around there.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Get yourself a bio reactor

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk