High Nitrates in my tap water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

angiemike6

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have been keeping fish for 30 years, and probably because they never get diseased or die (apart from normal life span) I have become lazy in testing my water. All of my fish are more than 5 years old. I have a Juwel Vision 180 tank and use the standard in tank filter. I recently did a test of my water and found the following Ammonia 0, Nitrites 0, Nitrates 80 ppm, PH 7.6, GH 16 and KH 5. This high nitrate value concerned me. I then did test on the tap water - Ammonia 0, Nitrites 0, Nitrates 40 ppm, PH 7.6, GH 16 and KH 9. The nitrates in my tap water is quite high and using tap water I am putting in to my tank nitrates at 40 ppm. Unlike the USA where the legal limit for water companies is I believe 10 ppm, the legal limit in the UK is 50 ppm. I only feed my fish 3 times a week.

I have spoken with my local aquatic centre who have suggested getting a RO kit so that I can use RO water and also put in minerals. However this is expensive.

I then went to another aquatic store who did not seem that keen on RO water, and suggested I use RP Nitrate Remover which is a resin you put in your filter.

It would be appreciated for any advice on this matter as to how to reduce my nitrates. I am keen on Seamchem products and use Prime, Stability and Pristine. Does anyone have any experience of Seachem Matrix which could be used in the filter instead of the RP Nitrate Remover.

Do big water changes to drop the nitrates to whatever the tap water is.

Have lots of floating plants in the tank to use the nitrates.

Use the nitrate removing substance or invest in reverse osmosis water if you want to get the nitrates lower.