Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-09-2011, 04:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
This wasn't really a problem until a few years ago, but I think the terminology needs to change. There should be a distinction between alternating current devices and true wavemakers. For example the jbj ocean pulse can be set as low as ten second intervals. This might be able to be fine tuned in a pretty lage tank to take advantage of harmonic resonance, but it's not gonna happen in a smaller tank. I just want to gripe a little. And I'm not bashing that product. I'm probably going to buy the ocean stream wavemaker kit. Anyways, does any one know any true wavemakers other than the vortech and tunze wavebox?

__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 04:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
I'm assuming the tunze multicontroller is capable of making a wave also. Correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 04:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
I agree. I dont think the vortechs are actually true wave makers unless you buy an oversized unit. Or maybe its the size of the tank like you said. I have an mp10 in my biocube 29 and it does not make waves. More of a variable ph. The tunze one actually makes water rise and fall. My friend has a different brand that sits on the back of your tank but he got it off ebay and it is chinese made.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 04:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
Is your friends a box that actually makes a wave?
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
I think I found the one you were talking about. But it's rated at 200+ liters. I only have a 40g breeder. I think I'm just going to go with the nano wavebox. Was hoping to find something a little cheaper. Oh well it will be a few months anyways. Do you think I could drill my tank and mount on outside?
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 05:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
My friends made waves but needed constant maintence. It had outputs on 2 sides and was designed to go in the middle back of tank.

Do you mean drill tank just to put wave box on? I think they work by being submerged in the water. But if you want a sump I would drill the tank for sure.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 06:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
Yea I meant for the wavebox. I'm hooking up my sump soon. Just need to build my stand. Actually my grandpa is for Christmas. I'm just gonna use the hang on overflow I already have for now. But I'm def going to drill it. My overflow loses suction. Never really had a problem with it. But I gotta suck air out every week or two. I think it's because it's way oversized. It doesn't flow enough to get the air out. It's a double tube one, so I usually am able to just block one tube and it flows enough to get the air out the other.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 06:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
yetee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Salt Lake, Utah
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAhner View Post
I think I found the one you were talking about. But it's rated at 200+ liters. I only have a 40g breeder. I think I'm just going to go with the nano wavebox. Was hoping to find something a little cheaper. Oh well it will be a few months anyways. Do you think I could drill my tank and mount on outside?
200 liters is equivilant to ~50 US gallons. this thread just made a light bulb go off and makes me want to try experimenting with a few things. seeing that all a water wave is, is a very low frequency sound wave.....
__________________
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ank/Page1.html how to cycle your tank
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ate/Page1.html How the Nitrogen cycle works
yetee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:05 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bige
I agree. I dont think the vortechs are actually true wave makers unless you buy an oversized unit. Or maybe its the size of the tank like you said. I have an mp10 in my biocube 29 and it does not make waves. More of a variable ph. The tunze one actually makes water rise and fall. My friend has a different brand that sits on the back of your tank but he got it off ebay and it is chinese made.
I have an MP10 in my 29 std & it makes a nice standing wave @ 1/2 power. I think it's more a shape issue for the cube. 2 mp10s would probably work - but that's the tank not the PH.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 07:17 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
That's true. The shape is important.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 10:10 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
I think it would be much harder to generate a wave in a half circle tank. Is it even possible?
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 10:19 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
Yea it probably is much harder. If u could it would probably be much easier with a wavebox than a vortech. I think the boxes relly more on the up and down motion than the bouncing of current. This is just what I'm thinking. No actuall data, or experience.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 10:42 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
KcTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Breckenridge, Tx
Posts: 177
uggg, this is a ongoing issue for me at he moment. I have A 54g corner and I use a JBJ wavemaker with the 500 ph's. Worthless, I've tried every combo you can think of & they are not cutting it. I am going to order the larger PH they have and hope it isn't to much.
__________________
KcTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 11:24 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
I've got 1 1650 ph in my 75g and the flow is crazy! I point it towards the middle of the tank and I get pretty cool waves at the top. Idk if you can tell but it's like a flowing or gushing river on my tank.
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 11:36 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
What we are talking about is a standing or resonant wave. A wave box might work better in that application; a Vortech relies on resonance (bouncing waves off a flat surface at a specific frequency). This requires wider flow or multiple synced sources on a wide tank or simply isn't possible on a curved tank (corner or 1/2 circle - bowfront would likely work).

That being said, I'm not sure of the hydrodynamics used by a box. If it requires the wave to bounce back, even a box wouldn't work on a curved tank.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 12:06 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
KcTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Breckenridge, Tx
Posts: 177
I feel Like it will take 3 mid size power heads in my corner to achieve what I want without blowing my corals completely away.
__________________
KcTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:31 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 271
There are these I'm not for certian if they are capable of producing a wave or not but here's a link http://www.oceansmotions.com/store/?...1a35ff2a504c98
__________________
Mike-words is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, wavemaker

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Water Change Badly, No Conditioner! StevesPrettyCool Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 10-07-2011 08:55 PM
Ammonia rising after water change youngfin Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 09-30-2011 03:58 AM
Discus suddenly died after water change Sarretty Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 11 08-18-2011 09:17 PM
PWC and Prime Mumma.of.two Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 75 08-12-2011 01:50 AM
Max pH Change at Water Change tlkng1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 06-25-2011 07:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.