Advice please: beginner setting up 80 gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stormcrow01

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

I've always wanted to own a fish tank and I've finally got the chance! Really excited about this, however, I'm a total beginner and need some advice.

I've started by reading the free PDF - tropical fish for beginners. This has given me an appreciation of the need to ensure everything is set up and cycled before introducing any fish.

The equipment list:
-80 gallon tank, 120cm(l) by 45cm(w) by 66cm(h)
-1500litres/ hour filter
-300w glass heater
-4no. 39w lights
-Filter media: gravel (5cm deep?)

Plants: I would like to have living plants and have thought about water sprite / Java moss.

Fish: I'm not sure what fish I should put in there, I know I would like some bright colourful fish, and a variety where possible. However I'm not sure which fish are likely to get on with each on and how many can fit in this tank safely.

Could I please request your recommendations on what I should/stock this fish tank with? And any plants that would suit the type of fish well.

I will keep this thread updated with pictures as I set up the tank. Thanks:)

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide-to-starting-a-freshwater-aquarium/
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/fishin-cycling-step-dark-side/
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/the-almost-complete-guide-and-faq-to-fishless-cycling/
Aqadvisor.com