Ammonia Overdose?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stretch

Aquarium Advice Activist
I added ammonia to my tank about 4 hours ago. The tank is about 1 week old. Is this ammonia level too high? These two pics are the same exact sample, just one pic with flash and one without. Is this right? What should I do?

What is the nitrite reading ? I know you've been dosing ammonia but I can't remember if any of it is being converted yet - refresh my memory.

I would say that if you are already processing ammonia then get the level down to 2ppm. If not then it can stay at 4ppm. If the ammonia is too high it could slow the cycle and the resulting nitrite spike will take a very long time to process since the nitrite bacteria are slower to reproduce.

(ps - I'm no expert so you might want to wait for a second opinion)

Looks like 4.0 to me. If this is fishless, you are perfectly fine. :)

Now you just sit and wait and test daily. When ammonia drops to 0ppm, check for nitrites. If you have nitrites, then only dose 1ppm, but no more than 2ppm. Keep doing this til the nitrite spike passes and both ammonia and nitrite fall to 0ppm in less than 24 hours after dosing.

joannde said:
What is the nitrite reading ? I know you've been dosing ammonia but I can't remember if any of it is being converted yet - refresh my memory.

Well, I hadn't started dosing ammonia until today. I was at 1.0 for about 4 days and there was little change, so I decided to give dosing a try today. It just seemed really dark afterwards.

Nitrite is still 0 or very low.

Yup, I'm fishless. :(

You are doing fine then. :)

When the ammonia falls, you should start seeing nitrite. When you do see nitrite and ammonia goes to 0ppm, just keep bumping the ammonia to 1-2pm til you are cycled. :)

wow - I got the answer right ??? LOL - my newbie-ness may be starting to wear off.