Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-04-2020, 11:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Anyone used Aquarium Cotton Sponge Biochemical Filtration Pads?

I have an Aqua Clear 50. I use generic sponges, but the ones I used to buy from eBay don't seem to be around any more. I used to get 12 for like $15. But now the only ones out there seem to be 6 for $11. I was hoping that maybe I could find a cheaper alternative and saw Aquarium Cotton Sponge Biochemical Filtration Pads. But I have never used anything like that before and hoping for some advice.

Old 08-05-2020, 12:51 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award

This seems fine for capturing muck and maybe rinsing a couple times and throwing it out.

The sponge (for the bottom spot) which comes with the filter lasts almost forever!

I think it is page 4 for the stock configuration
http://usa.hagen.com/File/ede567c9-4...e-f032a71517e6

Are you throwing the sponges out, the ones that come with the filter?

New to FW fish? First tank in a long time or EVER??? Need some info on keeping fish?
Start here - Aquarium Advice Article
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide...ater-aquarium/
Autumnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 08:20 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

Sponges will last 5-10 years. No need to throw them out. You want 10/20 ppi sponges in your filter or just simple pot scrubbies will last forever. Just don't clean your filter all the time. Only want to clean the sponges with a quick rinse under water every 4-6 months.
Old 08-05-2020, 10:22 AM   #4