Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-29-2009, 01:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
Question Changing Substrate??

I currently have a 20 gallon tank which is moderately planted and looking to switch my boring plain gravel to flourite. Is this okay to do, because I am not sure if I will be disturbing the biological bacteria in the tank that keeps everything in balance.

If this is okay to do, is there anyway in particular I should be doing this? I only have 6 guppies and 2 oticinclus in the tank at the moment.
__________________

__________________
Mattei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 03:22 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,067
Talking

You will probably see some type of mini cycle but if you monitor your readings and keep up on water changes you should be fine. I did the same thing to my 10 gallon a few months ago with no problems or even a mini cycle. Good luck!
__________________

__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 05:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
T Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
Posts: 36
If you can do it in chunks you minimize the possibility of a cycle, but that may not be pactical for you. If you can take out a third or quarter at a time then add the apropreate amountof new material you shuld not have any trouble.

We Stared out with what we called the Cory's beach, and it gew to encompass the entire tank a bit every few weeks.
__________________
90 Gal perfecto with fake plants, eight neon tetras, eight cardinal tetras, four delphax corydoras, four paleatus corydoras, six otocinclus, endlers, and endler fry.
18 Gal hagen Fred the Fancy Guppy Memorial Hospital Tank
T Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 03:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 3,287
There is a lot of dust in fluorite.
__________________
joy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Substrate meegosh Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 04-22-2008 04:24 PM
changing substrate mom2reds Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-16-2006 03:06 PM
changing substrate justrelax Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 06-26-2006 05:42 PM
changing my substrate slroo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-27-2006 10:34 PM
Changing substrate JackBurton Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 01-31-2006 08:42 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.