Fiddler crabs - good tank mates?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LadyBloodraven

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! I'm new to the forum here, decided to join after seeing so much awesome information in the threads. I've been raising freshwater fish since I was about 12 years old, and helping my dad beforehand. I do wind up with questions sometimes, but I also hope to be able to help other people with their questions too :)

All that aside, I have a 20 gallon long tank. Currently, it houses two red jewel cichlids and a convict. It had also a fiddler crab, but he just recently died due to a bad molt. (Poor guy.) I did tremendously enjoy the addition of fiddler crabs to my tank, they're awesome little guys. And yes, I did add salt to the water even though the stores like to label them as 'fresh water' when they are actually brackish. Houdini (the crab, as he kept disappearing.) would be harassed from time to time by the territorial cichlids, though they learned to let him be after a few snaps from that big claw of his! That aside, I know the harassment was stressful for him and probably added on to the cause of the bad molt. I'd rather this not happen again, and am planning on swapping my cichlids at my LFS for something else.