Fish stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lukester

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
OK. I need to know if my tank is overstocked or not. I have a 37 gallon top fin starter kit(im new to the hobby).

Here's my stock,

1 Angelfish
1 cherry barb(had 6 but I've been striked by the dreaded ICH.)
6 Dalmatian molly's
4 red wag platys (same thing as the barbs)
1 Opaline gourami
1 clown pleco

Dont be afraid to give me some constructive criticism.

How long has your tank been set up?
Your gourami and angelfish may eventually start to fight as they get older. I would rehome one of them.
Are the mollies/platys a single gender or do you have the 1:2 ratio. Those will both breed like rabbits and fill your tank.

I agree with SaraB: you're not overstocked right now, but you will be as the livebearers breed. (Trust me, I'm going through my own platy Malthusian crisis right now.) The angel will eat some of the fry, but not enough.

I would like to add something. Since you have a 37 gallon tank I don't think gourami and angel will fight since they have very many space to be. Decorate your tank beautifully with hiding spots in case if things go south. At this point your tank is not overstocked at all. But breeding can be a problem in the long run as Barliman and SaraB pointed.

Ok, thank you! I have another question. Why is my tank getting so dirty only a couple days after a clean.(I gravel vac,50% water,scrub glass). Am I missing something. Also Idk if my filter cartridge needs to be changed. Ik it gets rid of some of the beneficial bacteria. The filter cartridge is brown. Also is there something I can do to get rid of the smell? Finally, is there steps i need to do prior of putting the new filter cartridge in?
Yes I have the 1:2 ratio. Is that bad? I've seen some fry along the bottom of the tank but the angelfish DESTROYS them.