Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-20-2012, 06:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Urnonsnewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 22
Graval to sand

Recently rescued a red wolf fish from a neighbor and had no choice but to put him in an uncycled tank... It is a 55 gallon and he is in there by himself.... I am having issues keeping my ammonia down even with 30-50 percent water changes daily with prime.... I have been doing this for nearly a month and ain't seeing any relief! I have more then enough filtration( aqua clear 70 and a aqueon filter for up to 45 gallons) I also have a bubble wall and a bubbling decoration I have been trying to keep the ammonia below .25 and it's posing a problem sometime rising above to .50...... I have a gravel substrate and was thinking of changing to sand as it helped with keeping waste on the top in my other tank..... I have a spare (empty) 36 gallon I could put him in for a few days well the sand settles after filling.... My question is if I use the current water from his tank to fill the 36 and put both my filters on it will I lose any or all of the progress I had made with the cycle?
__________________

__________________
Urnonsnewman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 06:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,706
It shouldn't be a problem so long as you keep the filters intact. What is the ammonia level of your tap water? You may be trying to fight something you have little control over. Also try feeding less until the cycle completes, like every other day feed only a little bit.
__________________

__________________
I support the right to arm bears.
blert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 07:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Urnonsnewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 22
Tap water is 0 thanks for the reply
__________________
Urnonsnewman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 07:01 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urnonsnewman
Recently rescued a red wolf fish from a neighbor and had no choice but to put him in an uncycled tank... It is a 55 gallon and he is in there by himself.... I am having issues keeping my ammonia down even with 30-50 percent water changes daily with prime.... I have been doing this for nearly a month and ain't seeing any relief! I have more then enough filtration( aqua clear 70 and a aqueon filter for up to 45 gallons) I also have a bubble wall and a bubbling decoration I have been trying to keep the ammonia below .25 and it's posing a problem sometime rising above to .50...... I have a gravel substrate and was thinking of changing to sand as it helped with keeping waste on the top in my other tank..... I have a spare (empty) 36 gallon I could put him in for a few days well the sand settles after filling.... My question is if I use the current water from his tank to fill the 36 and put both my filters on it will I lose any or all of the progress I had made with the cycle?
The bb are inside the filter media. So if you move both your filters the 55 wont have any kind of bb to help finish the cycling. What kinda test are you using? Have you tested your tap water to see if you have any ammonia? The bubble walls wont reduce any of the ammonia at all.
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 07:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Urnonsnewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 22
I just wanna move the to the 36 for the 2 day he will be in there till the sand settles from filling
__________________
Urnonsnewman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 07:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Just move the smaller of the 2 filters and leave the biggest one. You'll need to put a piece of pantyhose over the intake, so the sand wont destroy your impeller.
__________________

__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is my sand in my 10gallon tank so dirty? Ryleyman Cichlid Discussion 153 03-29-2012 06:36 PM
Best way to sterilize creek rocks Jill Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 03-25-2012 01:13 AM
How long to wait before adding fish? Dfranks Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 03-23-2012 08:31 AM
Wondering how i can get my clownfish to host! armyman16 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 03-21-2012 10:30 PM
Cant get my snowflake polyps to open TigerBarbs Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 11 03-20-2012 06:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.