Help me before its too late!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chappers

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there,

A couple of weeks a go i bought a new fluvial osaka 260, set it all up and filled it with water, some large bog wood with mature java turn (14inches) and another large bog wood with a mature plant on it too. Unfortunately for reasons out of my control i simply had to add fish a couple of days ago, the tank is not yet cycled (i assume), i am new to the tropical game so please excuse my beginners knowledge.

Before you all tell me i shouldn't have added the fish, i know, i know the tank needs time to cycle etc but there was no option so what i want to know is how i can do my best to avoid the dreaded algae break outs etc.

SO in the tank now is about 8 platys, 2 very young platy fry and a 2 inch red tail shark. They have been in there for a few days now and seem VERY happy and so far the water is crystal clear but any ideas how i could avoid or help to avoid the inevitable new tank syndrome?

Hi and welcome!! Theres nothing wrong with fish-in cycling as long as you are responsible and willing to commit yourself to the care of your fish. If you feel you will be unable to do this, return the fish until your tank is cycled.

Crystal clear water does not indicate anything here- do you have an API or other liquid test kit for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate & ph? This is a MUST have- you will need to test your water daily & do water changes as needed to keep your toxin levels down. Algae is the least of your worries right now- keeping you fish healthy should be your primay concern. Please read the link below & ask any questions you may have! :)

I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?!