Help With Broken Tank.. SOS

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bhunsucker

Aquarium Advice Freak
I was doing a PWC awhile ago on my 55gal tank and the plastic "T" bar (not sure of the name) that is on the top of the tank in the middle is broke into. How dangerous is this? Do I need to go out and get another tank immediately?

Thanks for your help!!

I'm no expert, but the plastic T-bar on my 55g isn't strong enough to do anything substantial in terms of holding the tank "together".

The only useful thing I see it doing is holding up my two seperate covers. I wouldn't think it would be an emergency at all. I'm sure someone will a little more confidence will come along eventually and tell you for sure - but thats my two cents.

:)

When I bought my 55 gal tank, the instructions on it said that if the middle brace was cracked or broken, not to use it. This was printed on the papers that came with the tank.

the middle support does infact add to the strucual integrity of the tank.
it ads in supporting the side loads of the water pressure pushing against the front and back of the tank.

i personally would lower the water level until i could find a replacement or find a way to repair it.

That brace doesn't have a lot of torsional strength (can't take a lot of twisting or sideways pressure), but it has a lot of linear strength (i.e. pulling it like taffy won't break it). That keeps the long sides of your tank from bowing out, and relieves a lot of pressure on the end seams. It is necessary. You can either order a replacement top frame from your LFS, or build a DIY brace by siliconing a piece of 3-4" wide glass where the brace used to be. Meanwhile, you would be well advised to lower the water level in your tank substantially (30-50%) until you can get that support replaced.