How long does it take to cycle tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mileymoo

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ive just bought a 30litre tank for my guppy fry, the filter was broken so how the 2 male guppies that were already in the tank weren't dead, yes it's second hand, I've washed everything in it iwn water best I could and added stress coat tap safe, I've bought a new filter which works up to 45litres, it has 2 air stones, it's been done 5 days what can I do to make things better, I have a 94 litre that is running beautifully now, with a few problems at first (white spot and fin rot) now I know what to look for I'm walking the fish like hawks, I didn't want to put them in my big tank till I was 100% sure there healthy, the guppy fry is being sold at 6 weeks, then I will use the tank as a quarantine tank, please help I'm still new at this and I could do with all the advice I can

...also, if your 94 liter is cycled, you can speed things up a lot by putting some of the filter media from that, in the uncycled tank's filter.

1. Put some "cycled filter" bio ceramic media into your uncycled filter.
2. Put some "Nutrafin Cycle" directly to the uncycled filter (I tested it cycled my 30 gal tank in 9 days)

Did you tested your water for ammonia nitrites? If not i'll say do a WC if you have fish into it, maybe there's a build up of ammonia.
So,
3. Make a WC

I would use this tank as quarantine/fry tank. Ich and other disease are very unpleasing and frustating to cure when it's your main tank that is infected.
Always quarantine new fishs for 2 weeks minimum as I do and life will be better for you. Infected fish are easy to threat in small tanks, and it's costless.

Thanks for your advice, the filter I've got is just a small filter with two sponges in and no carbon, it's a AR 380 aquarium the filters a tetra 300 plus, so how would I do it