How to lower nitrate?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Polly

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey!! I was told to use clearmec plus to lower my nitrate but its not working, can anyone help please? PH 7, 0 ammonia and nitrite, nitrate around 80? I have been using it for around 2 months.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Big water change time. Don't know what that chemical is, but I only use Prime dechlorinator in my tank. Water changes control nitrates.

I do weekly water changes of at least 25% or more... its a 200L tank. And use prime with every water change. Everything else is normal except the nitrate. The fish shop owner said its not harmful to fish but i still got that clearmec stuff to lower it cuz that was what he recommended.

I do weekly water changes of at least 25% or more... its a 200L tank. And use prime with every water change. Everything else is normal except the nitrate. The fish shop owner said its not harmful to fish but i still got that clearmec stuff to lower it cuz that was what he recommended.

I've never used that stuff, but am pretty sure it doesn't work. The fish shop owner likely sold it to you to make a few extra bucks. Typical.

The only safe and effective way to reduce nitrates is water changes. How heavily stocked is your tank? How much are you feeding?

Right now, I'd do 20-50% every-other-day water changes until that nitrate level gets down to 20 ppm or so. Then you can return to your usual water change routine. Your fish will likely not do well in 80 ppm nitrate indefinitely. Most species of tropical fish will be fine at < 40 ppm nitrates.