Introduction / Algae Eating question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

subset99

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
First of all, hello to everyone. I'm relatively new to this hobby, but have done lots of research into planning my tank. I've had it for about roughly 6 or 7 months now. What's interesting is that my intention was to turn my tank into a peaceful community tank in the beginning. I bought a 55 gallon aquarium w/ accompanying stand (along w/ other required components; filter, heater, thermometer, gravel, vaccum, etc.) and proceeded to cycle it. Here's what has happened since:

#1: It has become a semi-aggressive tank. The purchase of a red tail shark started it towards that trend, but the addition of tiger barbs pretty much solidified its status. Maybe someone could tell me if I'm on the right track w/ the compatibility of my selections:

3 Rainbow fish
8 Tiger barbs
1 Red tail shark
3 Pictus catfish
1 Bala shark
1 Marble molly

Since it is a relatively young tank, the size of the fish is not an issue. I figure that they will probably top out at around 65 inches at full maturation. I figure to graduate to a 100 gallon well before that point even. Do these fish seem to be compatible together? I have to say, since they've been together, I've experienced no problems. My only apprehension is how the two sharks will interact later down the road. As of right now, the red tail pretty much rules the roost!!

#2: I have purchased "underwater bamboo" and was wondering if that is okay. I put that in quotes because I've read conflicting opinions as to whether this can survive while fully submerged or not. Some people have said it will rot, while others have claimed that it did just fine for years and still continues to flourish (I'm guessing water parameters probably play an active role in its progression?).