Is this a good tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

missgingersnap

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm debating on buying a 48 gallon tall square shaped tank. It's 18x20 and 31 inches high. Does this limit the types of fish I can get since it isn't too wide but it is very tall? I'm going to put angel fish and maybe a couple blood parrots or any colourful cichlid that would get along with those two. Also maybe some kind of schooling fish. He wants $200 for the tank, stand, strip light, heater and filter. There is no lid though. I think this is a good deal but not sure since I'm very new at this...my first 10 gallon tank is still cycling. lol Any advice would be great. Thanks :)

Those dimensions will limit you in bottom-dwelling fish but I think the ones you mentioned would be fine. A tall tank is harder to clean and arrange things in, especially plants if you want them, so you'll need to be extra sure you have it arranged the way you want from the beginning.

If you're buying a used tank I think you might be able to do better than that price, but that is a very specialty size and if there's some reason you want that shape or size I wouldn't hold out, as that is substantially discounted from what you would pay for new stuff. $200 might get you a 75 or 90 gallon tank if you're patient and watch craigslist, but those are 4 or 6 feet long and require more commitment from you in terms of floor space.

Overall I would say it's a great deal.