Moving help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rjrossi88

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm still a few months out, but I will be moving soon and I'm rather new to the tank game. Can anyone give me some pointers on the appropriate way to move everything so that I cause as little stress as possible??

Also, I plan on switching my substrate from gravel to sand during the move. Is there a right and wrong way to do it or is it okay to just remove the gravel and add sand?

Live plants and fish can go to 5g buckets of tank water. Air stones if needed.

Filter pads and media can go on another bucket as well.

Throw out the old substrate.

Move tank as quick as possible. I would pre rinse your sand just in case before taking the tank down to ensure you are not spending an extra hour cleaning it. You want as little bucket time as possible for your fish.

Arrive at destination and fill it back up with everything it needs. Monitor levels to make sure there is no spikes. Also make sure to acclimate your fish back.

Caleb

How far of a drive are you moving? How big of a tank is it?

The last time i moved a 55g tank we bought a roll of fish bags and bagged them up. Then we bagged up the filter media in water as well. This worked well for a 2 hour drive. Just keep in mind, the bigger the bags the better.

Another way is to keep them in a cooler or bucket and use a battery powered air pump. Its just important to keep the filter media wet.

As for the sand, just wash the sand (preferrably before the moving of the fish) and then just add it in before adding water. Use anplate to buffer the flow and keep it from stirring up too much sand. I find that it requires a 100% water change after filling just to get rid of dust.