Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-04-2015, 12:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
New filter

I currently own a Aqueon 55 / 75 and purchased a fluval C4 and it's to arrive in 2 days. Some say I should run the new filter along side the old for a few days. As all of you know that this is due to the fact that the new filter has no bb. If this is true then how long should I leave both running and then remove the old filter.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 12:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stacey W. View Post
I currently own a Aqueon 55 / 75 and purchased a fluval C4 and it's to arrive in 2 days. Some say I should run the new filter along side the old for a few days. As all of you know that this is due to the fact that the new filter has no bb. If this is true then how long should I leave both running and then remove the old filter.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
I would do at least 3 weeks. 4 would be better.
__________________

__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 12:09 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikem691 View Post
I would do at least 3 weeks. 4 would be better.
Do you think that it would mess with my water chemistry even if my tank has been established for 2 years?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 12:18 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
You may see a mini cycle when you remove the old filter. Just keep an eye on the ammonia and nitrites for a week or so after removing it

Sent from my SM-G386T using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 12:19 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Might as well leave the old filter on. Why chance it?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 12:26 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
There is no problem with doing that. I run up to 4 filters on 1 tank.

Sent from my SM-G386T using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 12:42 AM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 788
Honestly in my experience with my 55g tank, I can wash with tap water and completetly replace the 2 filter floss pads in my Penguin 350 and see no ammonia spike.. Personally I think filters are overrated when it comes to removing ammonia and so forth unless you are extremely overstocked and over feed..
__________________
candymancan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 12:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Why not just put the old filters media in the new canister?

You would be saving all your bb so fhere shouldnt be any worry about a cycle.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 12:50 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattfinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by candymancan View Post
Honestly in my experience with my 55g tank, I can wash with tap water and completetly replace the 2 filter floss pads in my Penguin 350 and see no ammonia spike.. Personally I think filters are overrated when it comes to removing ammonia and so forth unless you are extremely overstocked and over feed..

That's a good point. BB is everywhere not just the filter. I would run the old filter for 3-4weeks either way, although with responsible stocking and feeding it shouldn't be such an issue.

Eg. I don't run a filter on my 10g which has a breeding pair of killifish...
water quality has to be reasonably good for them to breed.
__________________
Mattfinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 12:54 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by candymancan View Post
Honestly in my experience with my 55g tank, I can wash with tap water and completetly replace the 2 filter floss pads in my Penguin 350 and see no ammonia spike.. Personally I think filters are overrated when it comes to removing ammonia and so forth unless you are extremely overstocked and over feed..
Is it possible that you killing the bacteria regularly on the filter pads has caused a growth of bacteria elsewhere in the tank?

People commonly over emphasize the need for extra biological media when only a little bit is needed.

That being said, filters are still the primary reason that our hobby is where it is today. Their importance cant be understated.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 01:08 AM   #11
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
Is it possible that you killing the bacteria regularly on the filter pads has caused a growth of bacteria elsewhere in the tank?

People commonly over emphasize the need for extra biological media when only a little bit is needed.

That being said, filters are still the primary reason that our hobby is where it is today. Their importance cant be understated.


Not saying they are worthless, but you know dustin on dustins fish tanks, doesn't even use filters in his tanks.. I deff need my canister on my discus tank, before I had it I use to have constant ammonia spikes..

But with my other tanks, ive never had issues replacing all the pads or washing them in city tap water.. I have noticed when changing substrates though, that causes the ammonia spikes.. Filters not so much
__________________
candymancan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 08:18 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by candymancan View Post
Honestly in my experience with my 55g tank, I can wash with tap water and completetly replace the 2 filter floss pads in my Penguin 350 and see no ammonia spike.. Personally I think filters are overrated when it comes to removing ammonia and so forth unless you are extremely overstocked and over feed..
Not sure what you are answering here. There was nothing about how they are cleaning the filter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
Why not just put the old filters media in the new canister?

You would be saving all your bb so fhere shouldnt be any worry about a cycle.
Its a c 4 not a canister. I don't think there is room for the old media.
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 08:54 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikem691 View Post
Not sure what you are answering here. There was nothing about how they are cleaning the filter.

Its a c 4 not a canister. I don't think there is room for the old media.
No no room for old media. But was thinking I could just throw the old filters in a bucket and put swish the new sponge in the water with the old filters.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 09:05 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
I would squeeze the old media out over the new filter to seed it but still run both for a while.
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 10:29 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stacey W. View Post
No no room for old media. But was thinking I could just throw the old filters in a bucket and put swish the new sponge in the water with the old filters.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Ahh, gotcha i got my filters mixed up. You can take the pad and cut it up in that case. Just remove the carbon and youre good to go.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 12:58 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 641
Be careful, I just bought 2 new C3's because i purchased a 40G Breeder during dollar days.

I had a 36G with 2 C3's running established for a few months, and I took the 1 C3 off the 36 and put it in the 40, and then gave the 36G a new C3 as well as the 40G. I did have a mini cycle in both tanks, lasted about 4-5 days (Nitrite, never had an issue with ammonia). So if you do just run 1 old and 1 new, keep an eye on the parms for a week or so (Nothing an extra WC during the week couldn't fix) .

Also if you really are worried about this, just cram that old filter into the C4's spare bin (the one that houses carbon)

__________________
zer0signal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 03:50 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Thanks I was thinking about that but I was gonna put some biomax in the carbon cartridge.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 05:55 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0signal View Post
Be careful, I just bought 2 new C3's because i purchased a 40G Breeder during dollar days.

I had a 36G with 2 C3's running established for a few months, and I took the 1 C3 off the 36 and put it in the 40, and then gave the 36G a new C3 as well as the 40G. I did have a mini cycle in both tanks, lasted about 4-5 days (Nitrite, never had an issue with ammonia). So if you do just run 1 old and 1 new, keep an eye on the parms for a week or so (Nothing an extra WC during the week couldn't fix) .

Also if you really are worried about this, just cram that old filter into the C4's spare bin (the one that houses carbon)


This is normal because you removed BB from you established tank and the 40G being new, could get a mini cycle even with a nice seeded filter.

I would say you should have installed a 3rd filter in your 36G to seed it for a couple week. This way you won't have a mini cycle on the 36G.
__________________
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 07:21 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllusionX View Post
I would say you should have installed a 3rd filter in your 36G to seed it for a couple week. This way you won't have a mini cycle on the 36G.
Shoulda, woulda, coulda,

It was on setup on an impulse, and I knew i could handle anything that occurred with PWC till it rebounded.
__________________

__________________
zer0signal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, new filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New filter or no new filter? swethog General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 03-01-2014 07:50 PM
Old filter, new filter, beneficial bacteria Coryluv Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 09-01-2013 12:31 AM
new DIY Aquarium Filter- The Ponish Filter fishman0000 Show Off/Photography 1 02-28-2012 05:42 PM
Filter Filter Filter Lafeet85 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 12-28-2011 03:29 AM
New 100g and Cascade 1000 filter tips or advice on filter please heathers_hounds General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-26-2011 10:55 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.