Newbie here. . . need help ppplleeasssee

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mr502go

Aquarium Advice Activist
To make a long story short, I ended up with an aquarium that was already established. Haven't had one in years. The gravel wasn't maintained properly (when I vaccumed the poo never quit). I tried to keep the levels in check, but could never complete the cycle anyway. I bought a new bio wheel filter, ran it with the old filter for two days. The water (which had clouded) cleared up, and my two lil guys seemed happy. Earlier this evening, I noticed the larger goldie's left eye seemed swollen, and there was a little nick in his tail fin which earlier that day was beautiful, as was the other smaller goldie. They both also had this grayish cottony/filmy almost fleshy looking stuff about their heads and bodies. I rushed out and purchased some tetracyclin, the problem got worse, QUICKLY, my little fish passed a few hours later. Unfortunately the big one (my favorite, he had so much personality, I know it sounds goofy) died. Tearfully I dismantled the aquarium, and want to start it right.

My first question is, what killed my fish (dont' want to make the same mistake)

Second, should I just use bio-spira to cycle, or what other method will work best for the long run. I can't take this happening to me again. It was terrible helplessly watching them suffer while hoping the meds would take effect.