Newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lmccorvey

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So a lot, actually most of this, fish tank water parameters is over my head to be honest. My family just got 5 tetras & 4 guppies in a new 10 gallon tank (and one betta in a 5 gallon tank but he’s doing well). I’m sad that in less than 2wks we’ve already lost two AND after a partial water change, about 25-30% (assuming I’m even doing this correctly), one of my guppies is starting to isolate himself and hang near the top. The first two died 4 days ago. They were eating and active and within 24hrs both started to act lethargic, lose their color, and isolate themselves near a top corner of tank. I’m hoping he is just stressed from the water change today and will be okay in the morning, but now I’m worried something was going on before my water change. Can someone give me advice according to my current water parameters. After testing the water about 2hrs after the partial water change (I have tap and so conditioned the water with API stress coat drops), here are the results:
GH= ~150-200ppm KH= 180ppm pH= 7.8-8.0