newbie to everything....75 fw partly cycled with fish in not sure what to do .

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gak

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to all so please forgive typing ,spelling,and ignorance in fish keeping.I need some advice. I have 75 fw tank with fish in and here are my readings-ammonia 1.5 ,PH 7.6, no2 0,no3 15,AK 140,HD 100. I have been trying to cycle my tank for several weeks. I have lost several fish and have started doing daily water changes of 50% out of desperation.I'm not sure how much information to give so maybe you could ask me questions?

gak said:
I am new to all so please forgive typing ,spelling,and ignorance in fish keeping.I need some advice. I have 75 fw tank with fish in and here are my readings-ammonia 1.5 ,PH 7.6, no2 0,no3 15,AK 140,HD 100. I have been trying to cycle my tank for several weeks. I have lost several fish and have started doing daily water changes of 50% out of desperation.I'm not sure how much information to give so maybe you could ask me questions?

Hi. What's you nitrite and nitrate? Are you using an API liquid test kit or strips ? What's the stock in your tank?

gak said:

I see your doing a fish in cycle. I've done plenty of fish in cycles so they can be done. You need to get a liquid API master test kit. And you need to test everyday and do water changes everyday. Also test you tap water to rule out anything coming from your own water source.

A fish in cycle can be very stressful on a fish, so you have to be up on your water changes. I was doing up to 2-3 water changes a day!

What size tank do you and what is your live stock? Also what type of filtration are you using. I always recommend over filtering a tank so I'm curious what your setup is like.

Also are you using something to remove choline? Something like Prime, Amquel Plus?

Here's a good read