Over Stocked ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

blueshoe32

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, I am new to the forums and fish keeping. last year I was gifted a 20 gallon hex setup and I have a community going. I am alot more aware of over stocking and how 1 inch per gallon isnt a literal rule. I curretly have 2 dwarf rams, a honey gourimus (Sp?), 3 guppies, 5 tettra ( Started off with 7 in the original set up. Only 5 still remain), 2 bristlnosed, 2 snails and 3 ghost shrimp. ( a comminity suggested by my local fish store and "experiance " of the aqatic section attendents.) I have a master kit and have been montiring it and I have noticed spikes in nitrats -2 ( from 0 to 0.25). Everything else is at a normal level. I currently have a 10 gallon thats been up for 3 weeks and have concidered transfering some into it. THe 10 contains 1 male double tail betta and 3 rasboras as a starting point.

Am I over Stocked ?

Welcome to AA

Yes I do believe your overstocked, because although 20 gallons there's not enough surface area for some active species to swim around.
You might get more replies in the freshwater general discussion forum from other members.

Oh I am sorry. I thought general topics were done here. If I posted in the wrong forum.

To move this post do I need to retype or copy and paste or is there a option to move it so I can be in a more appropriate section ? I hate to double post and annoy everyone

I don't know, but I don't believe you'd annoy anyone, everyone is pretty cool about honest mistakes.

I agree with Toolman, it's a little overstocked, but I have seen much worse. If it was a 20 long you would be in much better shape. As for the Rasboras in the 10, I'm not a fan of those for a 10g. Those guys really like to swim around and they are fast. They love strong currents.