Please Help my goldie is sick!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

freakinfishgeek

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I wrote a few days ago about my goldie who was pooing like crazy! Now she has had a long sold milky white string comming out of her for over 24 hours. She is a little interested in food but not like normal and she seems sluggish. What on earth could be wrong with her? I have had her for almost a year and she has always been alone. Nothing new to bring toxins. I really adore this fish you guys she had become so special to me and I will not let her die. I am very new to keeping fish so this is my only sorce of information. Please advise what should I do first. I fed her a few blanched peas this morning. After that is when I noticed her tummy looking a bit more bloated that usual and that she is a bit lethargic. Is it just that the peas gave her a tummy ache? Help!

If the peas are the only thing that has changed, then i would say thats what did not agree with her. Do a water change with her , give her some fresh water. For now , thats about all i can give to ya. Someone a little more experienced with the situation can give you some more help.

usually the change in Poo is a sign that something changed. if you give her the peas more often , then i would say its probably not the problem.

What are the colors of the gills? If they are a blood color then its a sign of ammonia poisoning.

If she is hanging at the top of the tank , it could be a disease that prevents her from getting oxygen.

At times , if the fish is stressed , their slime coat will diminish, at which they have a harder time fighting disease. Without their slime coat, they will have to use more energy to move through the water,which can leave the fish in a lethargic state. Something such as Stress Coat can help that.