Quick question on Fluval Biomax

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sergiotorr

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi! I recently bot a used Fluval 405 off of CL. I used it without even opening up and taking a look at the media baskets and my tank water was crystal clear! But then i decided i should service it and replace everything in the unit since the seller said he owned it for a year and had never ever replaced anything since the day he first set it up. I removed all the media including the fluval biomax with all the BB i needed on it (Im totally new to this hobby). I replaced everything from sponges to all new media. so i have 4 new sponges, bottom from top goes...pre filter ceramics, 2 carbon bags, fluval biomax, and Hagen biomax. My question is how long does it take for BB to start to grow and make a difference in my tank to clear up. My water is around 10-15% cloudy and the tank seems as if it needs to be cycled once again. I added Tetra SafeStart and my Ammonium, nitrite, and nitrate readings are at 0.25ppm. I added TSS so it can help aid the cycle. The fish seem fine with normal activity as always. Any help would be appreciative!

Looks like you're going through a mini cycle because you removed the biggest portion of your bacteria. You still have bacteria on the surfaces inside the tank though, so frequent water changes should get you back to normal before long.

Don't replace your media, ever. You're wasting money, IMO, with the carbon. I run the 4 sponges (that never need replacing until they're literally falling apart, just rinsed well every 2 weeks or so in old tank water), and then ceramic rings in all the media baskets. Carbon is only good for about a week or two, but unless you're trying to remove meds from your tank, or a foul odor, it's completely unnecessary.