Results of water tests

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

7bubbles

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everybody. I am quite new in this hobby so please help me.

I started a 40g tank about two months ago. I cycled it for three weeks before adding the first fish. Since the first day I have been testing the water on a weekly basis (and more often while cycling it). I use an API Master Kit (drops), so results should be accurate.

Once Amonia and Nitrite were zero I added the first 4 Platys. Since that moment the pH has been constant at 8 and Nitrates at 40 (unless I am colour-blind or my colour chart in the test kit is not accurate).

I have been doing weekly pwc of 20%-25%. Before and after the pwc the levels are pretty much the same: pH is 8.0, Amonia and Nitrite are zero and Ntrate is 40.

Since the levels have been very much the same, regardless of the number of fish, I have assumed they are fine and nothing to worry about... until today were I have the following burning questiosn:

1) Is 40 too high for Nitrate? Should I try to lower it? How?
2) Should I try to get the pH down?

At the moment I have:
4 Platys
2 Mollys
4 Corydoras
5 Glass catfish
1 Apple snail
1 Swordtail
1 Siamese Fighting fish

Your help will be very much appreciated

Hi everybody. I am quite new in this hobby so please help me.

I started a 40g tank about two months ago. I cycled it for three weeks before adding the first fish. Since the first day I have been testing the water on a weekly basis (and more often while cycling it). I use an API Master Kit (drops), so results should be accurate.

Once Amonia and Nitrite were zero I added the first 4 Platys. Since that moment the pH has been constant at 8 and Nitrates at 40 (unless I am colour-blind or my colour chart in the test kit is not accurate).