Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-28-2004, 06:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 279
This isn't working

I don't know why but fishless cycling isn't working for me (50 gal). It's probably something stupid that I messed up but I just can't figure it out. 6 weeks ago I added enough ammonia to reach about 4.0ppm and its been there ever since. Never had any nitrites or nitrates readings. The temp has been at 85 and everything has been up and running. I'm ready to just tear everything down and try cycling my tank with a few small fish. Any help or anything is greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Love pets?
A fun pet community
Talon242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 07:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 346
Send a message via AIM to LAGlocker Send a message via Yahoo to LAGlocker
Well Im not sure on this, but you might try lowering the temp a little. Also do you have your filter(filters) running?
__________________

__________________
Live in or around Alabama? Why dont you check out the Alabama Regional Forum.

Sold all tanks but
29 gal planted(lightly) tank now with 10 neons, 9 serpae tetras, 4 otos, 2 kribs and 3 gourami for the moment.
LAGlocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 08:02 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
What do you mean that you added enough ammonia to reach 4.0 ppm? If there is nothing to break it down, it's going to stay at 4.0.... Do you have any other tanks at your house? Or does somebody you know have any tanks? Your neighbor? If so, get of their gravel or one of their filter cartridges or something from their tank, and put it in yours.

Once you get some nitrifying bacteria in their, and they start reproducing and all, you should see your ammonia levels drop. Then you nitrite levels will rise, and soon, after all of that, you will see some nitrates.

I advise that you read the AA article of the Nitrogen Cycle, to get a full understanding of how the process works.

HTH
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 10:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,536
With fishless cycling, the ammonia source is added, and the nitrifying bacteria move in. The bacteria do better at high temps. Sounds to me like the basics are all there, so we need to figure out why the bacteria haven't shown up.

Did you add ammonia the one time? And the tank continues to measure 4.0 ppm? Have you added any more ammonia or topped the tank off? What tests are you using? Have you added anything other then the ammonia?
__________________
aka Cycling Guru and the Ich Slayer

*glares at Terry and QTOFFER*

Card carrying member of FTAS & GCAS.
Allivymar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 10:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 346
Send a message via AIM to LAGlocker Send a message via Yahoo to LAGlocker
Wasnt sure on the temp with fishless cycle, have never done one. I usually do the bio spira thing.
__________________
Live in or around Alabama? Why dont you check out the Alabama Regional Forum.

Sold all tanks but
29 gal planted(lightly) tank now with 10 neons, 9 serpae tetras, 4 otos, 2 kribs and 3 gourami for the moment.
LAGlocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 11:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allivymar
With fishless cycling, the ammonia source is added, and the nitrifying bacteria move in. The bacteria do better at high temps. Sounds to me like the basics are all there, so we need to figure out why the bacteria haven't shown up.

Did you add ammonia the one time? And the tank continues to measure 4.0 ppm? Have you added any more ammonia or topped the tank off? What tests are you using? Have you added anything other then the ammonia?
Yep, I added enough amonnia to equal 4.0ppm and haven't added any since. The only other things I have added was stress coat to remove chlorine and more water when the level starts to get lower. I've been checking the levels just about every other day with a freshwater kit from aquarium pharmaceuticals and no changes. I don't know if this helps any but my tank is kind of hazy.
__________________

__________________
Love pets?
A fun pet community
Talon242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OK.. this is what im working with juice28 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 03-16-2009 07:13 PM
What am I working with here. BEANS Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 30 03-05-2009 09:49 AM
Is my skimmer working? aravindk Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 06-28-2006 03:11 AM
RO/DI not working Serpentman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 05-26-2006 11:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.