Upgrade to 20 Gallon Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ANorton

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a novice to aquariums and to this site. I currently have a 5 gallon tank with 2 small fish. I think they are black neon Tetra but I am not totally positive. They look similar. Anyways sorry.

A friend gave me a 20 gallon Glass tank which I wanted to upgrade with. It is just a tank and the last one I bought was a full kit. I am looking for suggestions on how to do the upgrade for my fish and what accessories I should purchase for the tank to get it ready.

Thanks for the help
Aaron

Well there are many types of decor from natural to not so, it all depends on what you like. The substrate can be many things aswell like sand, pebbles,gravel, soil and so on and so on.

For cycling the new tank I would just do a fish in cycle and move the filter from the old tank over. You may want to look into a bigger filter.

I am sure that Andrew is much more knowledgeable about fish, but I have to disagree with him about the cycling. I personally would not do a fish in cycle with tetras. You can, but tetras seem to be more fragile, so they may not survive the cycle process. But, it is up to you. That would be the easiest way, for sure.

But back to your question. You are going to need a 75-100 watt heater, a filter rated for 25 gallons, 20 pounds of substrate, a good light, (t5 lighting is good if you want to have live plants) and of course decor and fish.

What kind of fish are you interested in? I am thinking you would want beginner fish, right? Some stocking options would be:

A female betta sorority with 6 or 7 bettas
A mix of 10 or 12 MALE guppies, platies, sword tails, etc
A school of 15 tetras
A male betta with 5-6 tetras
A school of 10 tetras with a 20-30 cherry shrimp
4-5 glass cat fish, with 3 african dwarf frogs