Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-28-2008, 09:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
shad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34
Weird Ammonia Reading

So i'm doing the fishless cycle and I purchased some household clear ammonia with no fragerance or anything. I added just a little bit maybe the equivelant of 6-8 drops into a 30 gallon rectangular tank and I have a freshwater master API test kit and my ammonia reading when i test it is simply clear. Doesn't even remotely have a hint of color to it. I even tried adding just some ammonia to the test tube with 5ml of tap water and some ammonia and its still clear. I've also added Bio-Spira and i'm still not reading any nitrite spike. or Nitrates. I have no idea what happened. The lfs I bought from keeps all there bio-spira refrigerated and I put it right in the fridge when I got home.
__________________

__________________
shad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 09:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
shad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34
I have a penguin bio wheel 200 power filter and I removed the carbon filter cartridge I have no UV sterilzer and the water has been treated.
__________________

__________________
shad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 09:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tired of the mod power plays; gone to another forum
Posts: 266
perhaps a bad/expired test kit.. take a sample to the lfs and have them test it. Bio-Spira , like dosing ammonia is going to take some time as well. It's not immediate. It should jumpstart the cycle, not zoom you past it.
__________________
tawolcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 10:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
shad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34
Yeah I understand that but it seems like about everything else works. The nitrite and nitrate and ph tests do.
__________________
shad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 10:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
It could have been a bad batch of Ammonia solution. You used both solutions, right? If so, get a new Ammonia kit.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 10:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tired of the mod power plays; gone to another forum
Posts: 266
how can you be sure if you don't do a baseline test? Unless you're using ro/di water, you should probably be seeing some level of nitrate just due to whats in your tapwater. IMO better safe than sorry.. take your kit, go to the lfs. have them test, then u test and compare.. for each
__________________
tawolcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 12:20 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
shad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34
I have the kit. The API master freshwater testing kit or something of the sorts. But basically it says the baseline color which is 0 ppm should be yellow. Well when I put the solution in all I get is clear.
__________________
shad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 12:42 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
I would suspect a bad kit .... you should get the yellow if you test just plain water .... if not, get a new ammonia refill (or a refund/exchange).
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 01:16 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
shad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34
Yeah I think that's what i'm gonna end up doing. Thanks for the help.
__________________
shad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 02:25 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pitt420dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh! Home of the 6 Time Superbowl Champs!
Posts: 1,048
Send a message via AIM to pitt420dude
Shad aren't there two solutions for ammonia? You probably are, just be sure you're following the directions before you go and buy a new one.
__________________
Thank you so much for all your help. I'm back into the hobby with a new vigor!

LOOK! A NEW LEAF!!!!!
pitt420dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 08:31 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Yes, there are two solutions. Make sure you are using both.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 07:19 PM   #12
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Agreed, and the 30 second and 1 minute mixing instructions are important to. IIRC, the first solution is clear, second is yellow. It sounds to me like you're not using the second solution as directed.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 12:42 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
shad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34
Yeah i've tried it.
__________________
shad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 07:40 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
The API kit needs to use both solutions. I see that you edited your thread and I'm assuming that you were only using one solution but have tried it using both. Did it work the second time? You need to add the number of drops from both solutions, shake, and let sit for a few minutes. If it doesn't turn yellow, you need a new test kit.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 10:27 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pitt420dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh! Home of the 6 Time Superbowl Champs!
Posts: 1,048
Send a message via AIM to pitt420dude
How did it go? Was that the problem? Where you using only one solution or not mixing them properly? IMO, Ammonia is the hardest thing to test w/ the API kits.
__________________
Thank you so much for all your help. I'm back into the hobby with a new vigor!

LOOK! A NEW LEAF!!!!!
pitt420dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 02:41 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I think it is the easiest with Nitrate being the most difficult. All that shaking.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 04:44 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatatonicBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishyfanatic View Post
I think it is the easiest with Nitrate being the most difficult. All that shaking.
I agree! I feel like I should be singing a tune and dancing a jig while tesing the nitrates!
__________________
CatatonicBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 04:48 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pitt420dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh! Home of the 6 Time Superbowl Champs!
Posts: 1,048
Send a message via AIM to pitt420dude
Oh, I'm confusing Ammonia with Nitrates, yeah, the Nitrates is a pain.

I like to spice up the testing of the Nitratesa little by singing

"SHAKE IT UP BABY NOW, SHAKE IT UP BABY, TWIST AND SHOUT!!"
__________________
Thank you so much for all your help. I'm back into the hobby with a new vigor!

LOOK! A NEW LEAF!!!!!
pitt420dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 09:23 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
shad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34
No I knew it used both. I took it in yesterday and they tried it and gave me a new kit.
__________________

__________________
shad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, weir

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reading ammonia test results Sahabo Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 05-01-2008 05:33 PM
Ammonia reading in new water hksnake Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 06-14-2006 02:55 PM
Ammonia test reading odd color. IworkatPSP Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-23-2005 10:56 AM
TAP WATER has Ammonia reading of 5! littletank Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 06-07-2005 05:40 PM
Cycling - continually reading max ammonia extremenewb Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 12-29-2004 12:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.