what is it with this hobby

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

undercutter

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm pretty new to aquarium hobby but the sheer amount of disinformation, ignorance and outright lies is mind bottling

they will tell you that you don't need to cycle your tank just add some bacteria from a bottle, they don't know anything about fish they are selling, they will sell you plants like mondo grass that can't survive under water, and that's at major chain stores

I don't think I've ever come across a business like that, how are they able to get away with it, is it because casual public just doesn't care?

Well some bottled bacteria does work, most don't though, at least not in the way people think they should.

Knowing about the fish is really the buyers problem, these chain stores are low paying and turnover a lot of employees, so I'm sure its hard to get someone really knowledgeable to stay aboard. Privately owned LFS seem to be a better source of information in general.

The plant thing is just economics. Certain plants like dracaena and mondo grass can survive under water for short periods, they just don't last for long. The reason they stock things like this is because they stay pretty on the shelf with minimal/no care and cost pennies on the dollar compared to true aquatic plants.

Well some bottled bacteria does work, most don't though, at least not in the way people think they should.

Knowing about the fish is really the buyers problem, these chain stores are low paying and turnover a lot of employees, so I'm sure its hard to get someone really knowledgeable to stay aboard. Privately owned LFS seem to be a better source of information in general.