New Plants, Nitrite Spike, Dead RCS

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KimAnnKitz

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am very new to shrimp and new to planted tanks. I have a Fluval Spec V with a betta 3 purple zebra snails and as of yesterday 10 cherry shrimp. I had recently ordered 3 Anubias Nana "Petite" and they arrived today. I soaked them in some salt water to kill any possible snail pests (I read on some forum that this is a good idea) and then rinsed them and sat them in some dechlorinated water for a few hours until I had time to plant. As soon as I put the first on in the tank, I noticed the shrimp going to the top of the tank. I first thought that they were just trying to get away from me, but then I watched the first one die while I was adding the second "Petite". I decided to do a water test as I thought maybe I had caused an ammonia spike by messing around in the sand (I have a plant substrate in the tank topped with about 1/2" of white sand). The ammonia was about .25 ppm and I didn't think that was killing the shrimp (by now two had died and the rest were acting weird at the top of the tank). I decided to check the Nitrites and they were through the roof! I quickly did a big water change and only lost one more shrimp and brought the nitrites to 0 ppm. What could have caused this? I honestly read a post today and same exact thing happened to someone else when they added new plants. How often should I check my nitrites now? Should I do partial water changes every day? This is my second batch of cherry shrimp and I really don't want to lose all of them. I honestly don't know what happened to my first 10, they just disappeared day by day, saw a few dead and know at least 3 got sucked into the lower intake on the Fluval. The tank has been up and running Since Feb. 11 and I didn't add a fish until the next week. I also didn't test the wa