complete noob. want to start a 10 gallon beginner tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mr funktastic

Aquarium Advice Addict
ok i have aan empty 10 gallon and an extra hob filter and i was need to know eevrything else that is need to start a saltwater tank. i have only done freshwater before and thought i should try salt. i know i will need a heater and possible a powerhead(not sure if it is needed for suck a small tank) and i dont know about the light requirements. i plan to put alot of live rock in there and if possible the thing that nemo lives in (lol it kills me to put that because u will all think i am completly mental) i dont know anything about saltwater at all so i need a complete breifing on the subject. i current have 4 freshwater tanks up and running so i do know basic fish care. but i dont know the difference in cycling or temperature or maintence or stocking. so please fill me in and please dont dumb it down to much i catch on very quickly. thanks in advance
ps please include links(preferably big als) and prices so i know what i am getting into. i also dont mind doing water changes.

lots of people have started tanks this month. read a bit then ask some specific questions. my first recommendation would be to buy a bigger tank. SW doesn't work well in small tanks for a lot of reasons.

welcome. take your time learning first. SW is very different.

Welcome To Saltwater!

First off, i see you have a 10 gallon aquarium. In saltwater, the bigger is the better so if your just starting off i would buy something bigger like 30 or 55. BUT 10 gallon can do it'll just be more work.