I just started a 75 gallon saltwater aquarium yesterday

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

609tsmith1984

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey I just started a 75 gallon aquarium yesterday and I added 4 damsels today...I have a sum pump filtration system with the back of the aquarium drilled...I have live rock rubble underneath in a filtration box I ingeniously thought of...is there any suggestions on which way to go to maximize my water flow for the buck??

I had the tank running for a day Completely setup...I am new at this but was told by a couple sources to add the damsels day two to start the process of cycling...being that they are cheap and can survive the spikes in ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates

That could work but most people run tanks anywhere from 4-8 weeks before they add anything other than live rock and sand. I went that route because I didn't want to risk killing anything while it cycled. There are lots of good posts on here about cycling.

I was waiting for you to say something Carey... You know way more than I do and all of the good articles to help explain things

Thank you! I read the article and no I feel pretty bad about putting them in there...I guess it is too late now and I feed them brine shrimp so that should do the same as a raw shrimp or two from them store... I will continue to test the water and hope for the best...on another note the water clarity is perfect and the 4 damsels I do have in there seem to be living great...I will keep posting..thanks again

If you don't have a liquid test kit now is the time to go get one. :)