Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-29-2018, 01:42 PM   #21
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Iíll look at it all again when I get a chance.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 08:34 PM   #22
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
I donít believe this will grow coral. Even when asked the seller says itíll grow coralline...not the same thing.
I stick to either the par38 bulb or the taotronic black box.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 08:47 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,658
It won't grow coral. Proper reef lighting is putting 150-200 par at 20" if I remember correctly. The cheap black box has done me well. 50 par is medium-low lighting on a planted tank so.....
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 08:49 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
Thanks for the feedback, I'm going to get the tank established for at least a few months before adding corals, so I will use these for now and upgrade when I'm looking to coral it up.

I power washed the base rock today and am hoping to pick up the tank tomorrow to start curing/cycling.

In the mean time, I have 3 large base rocks (40 lbs) and was playing around with aquascapes. Any opinions? A) stacked arch or B) separate piles?

Also, if I have live sand, will I need any live rock? How long will the rock take to become "live rock"?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180729_193645.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	181.8 KB
ID:	309850   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180729_193752.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	197.1 KB
ID:	309851  

__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 09:00 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 3,206
VIPARSPECTRA Timer Control 165W LED Aquarium Light Dimmable Full Spectrum for Coral Reef Grow Fish Tank https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00UMXAR5S..._QrLxBb48AB614

More like this......
__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 09:30 PM   #26
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Sand and rock will become live when your cycle is completed.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 09:12 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
Well, I gave in and bought a 40 gallon breeder. I'll have to move the 20g frog tank, but that is ok

I figure it gives some extra room to get that orchid dottyback that keeps swimming up to me when I go to the store LOL. It also leaves a 24"x18" space to the side of the tank where maybe I can fashion some sort of refugium.

Edit: moved the frog tank out of the way tonight, a job in and of itself
__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 02:18 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
I see so many recommendations for a sump, but there is no room under so I'm planning to do side-by-side refugium.

The plan would be to use a 20g high (same 16" height as a 40g) and raising it up 4", then adding a bulkhead to the top of 20g with a return into the 40g. With the water pumping from the 40 into the 20, the water level in the 20 should stay the same (only the level of the 40 would change) making it a good place to eventually add a skimmer. It also adds an additional 50% more water volume and would be used for growing chaeto.

Anyone see any issues with that setup?

Also, thinking more about potential stocking: 2x ocellaris clown, 1x orchid dottyback, maybe a pistol shrimp/goby combo and/or a sailifin blenny...

Thanks!
__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 09:55 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
I just want to say that I appreciate everyone's great replies. There is so much conflicting information on-line (skimmer vs refugium, baffles vs no baffles, sand vs mud vs bare bottom, etc) regarding saltwater and reef tanks it can be tough for a beginner! It it's great to get specific feedback for the exact project

I have been contemplating this idea of a 20 gallon display side-by-side refugium (raised a few inches and would gravity feed into the 40), but am starting to wonder if that is really necessary for the bioload I'd have in a 40 gallon (2x clown, orchid dottback, goby, couple of shrimp and eventually corals).

Could I just get a Hydor Slim Skim Protein Skimmer and be ok w/o the refugium? It seems like they get good reviews from what I've read. I have a 1 gallon hob refugium (inexpensive) that I could grow some chaeto as well if needed, but not sure if that is enough for a 40 g). I'm ok doing the refugium if it is really needed, but I'm trying not to create a lot of extra work and unnecessary expenses.

Thanks!!
Scott
__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 12:50 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
Would this be a horrible design for a side-by-side 20 g tall display refugium?

It would be a small space for a skimmer, but even the reef octopus classic 110 only requires 7", I could modify slightly based on skimmer size, but this design would hide the skimmer and macro in the back and refugium with cuc in the front (24x5" or so).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpeg
Views:	112
Size:	26.8 KB
ID:	309949  
__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 12:35 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
I got a 20 tall for the sump, but thinking I will just do a single baffle to keep the skimmer level constant.

It will be a side by side sump with a eshopps nano overflow that goes straight from the 40 to the 20.

Thinking about getting the csa-301 skimmer ($99) if anyone has any feedback in it?

Got the ro di hooked up and cleaned 15 g of water... Tank filling starts tomorrow!

Thanks,
ScottClick image for larger version

Name:	20180811_180554.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	147.4 KB
ID:	310038
__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 01:58 PM   #32
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Canít wait to see the progress
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 06:45 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Canít wait to see the progress
Thanks, me too The sand and rocks are in, dosed 1 ppm ammonium and now just waiting for it to cycle.. Ordered 20 additional pounds of sand and a koralia evo 750 gph to pair with the 550 gph I have in there now.

Just need to find a skimmer... Thinking about getting the csa-301
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180812_173751.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	122.5 KB
ID:	310049  
__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 08:30 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
Been reading about skimmers for the last week, there are so many options. Ordered a csa-301, arriving Saturday.

Planning to get the overflow, return and skimmer up and running this weekend.

Added a koralia 800 gph to go with the 600 that is in there, but it may be too strong, it is blowing the sand around...
__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 10:47 PM   #35
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
As the system cycles, the sand will get Ďstickyí as it gets established with bacteria. This will help with it blowing around, but also keep adjusting them until the flow is how you like.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 12:51 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
SCA-301 skimmer came today, added some water to the sump and started breaking it in. Not silent, but quiet enough.

Still haven't raised the level of the display to start the overflow, waiting for the tank to cycle. I did get it installed though - had to saw off part of the plastic overhang rim on both tanks to get it to fit. Probably should have sawed it prior to adding water as I am fishing out little pieces of plastic floating around. : D

Some minor frustrations with the eshopps overflow. 1. The hole for the side adjustment screw was drilled too tight (or the screw is too big), but it won't go in all the way. 2. Their manual says you have 48 hours after receiving it to report a missing item... I didn't even open it until a week after getting it! Fortunately everything was there.

I've been dosing ammonium and the nitrates are up to 5 ppm so the live sand is working.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180818_204111.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	153.8 KB
ID:	310122  
__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 09:36 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
Was on vacation but finally added some fish! 2 x clownfish and an orchid dottyback. The store also had some cleaner shrimp and a watchman goby so those will probably go in on a few weeks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180922_184020.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	174.1 KB
ID:	310488   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180922_183829_HDR.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	156.3 KB
ID:	310489  

__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 11:13 PM   #38
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,244
Was there an ammonia source present while you were gone? Thatís pretty short for cycle.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 12:31 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 434
I started dosing ammonium about 6 weeks ago and also had live sand... I dosed right before I went on vacation 2 weeks ago, was gone for a week and then dosed when I got back. It was cycled before I left, just didn't want to add fish and then leave. I added a little food as well. Then a big 90% water change a few days ago before adding the fish.
__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 01:01 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 107
I have mushroom corals, green star polyps, and palys are growing pretty well in a 20 gallon. It's peak par performance is 47 and avg is 26ish. I also just added some zoas. Also keep us updated on the dottyback because I've heard they can be extremely aggressive sometimes. Those clowns are gorgeous by the way!
__________________

__________________
CoreySheli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fowlr, fresh, salt

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making the jump to T5 lighting from spiral fluorescent bulbs, need help! PattyCakes81 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 09-05-2016 05:14 PM
Making the jump in a few months. CTBowes6 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 05-17-2012 01:21 PM
Making the jump to injected CO2. Don't some research. Still a bit intimidated. MartinBlank Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 01-30-2012 03:50 PM
New 75 gallon FOWLR (making jump from fresh to salt) slintzen Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 05-24-2009 09:00 PM
making the jump... now with PIX (lots and lots) tbonem91 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 16 05-17-2006 08:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.