New tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lloydxmas

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey everyone I just signed up today but have been following this app for a while now and had a question. I am getting married in 2 weeks and after that my future wife and I will be looking to buy a house. I was wondering what would be a good starting tank! I was thinking 75gal corner flow. Keep in mind I am new to the hobby but have been reading ALOT! Thank you for your time and advise in advance!

The bigger the better!!!!! Bigger tank=more room for error. If you can get a 125 do it. It will let you keep a lot of different species you couldn't with a 75 (most tangs and triggers).

Thanks for the advice. I want to buy a tank and not have to buy a bigger one down the road cause I was afraid to buy the first time!

Go with the 125 if you can. I started a 55g few months back and I wish I had gone bigger to start. You can have more fish, and theres more types of fish to choose from too. 75 is fine if you don't have the room, but if you do, I'd go for the 125. :)

Beengirl said:
Go with the 125 if you can. I started a 55g few months back and I wish I had gone bigger to start. You can have more fish, and theres more types of fish to choose from too. 75 is fine if you don't have the room, but if you do, I'd go for the 125. :)

++1 on bigger is better easier imo to stabalize parameters it is a bigger initial setup cost but i think is well worth it

Cool thanx! I have been doing a lot of reading on the cycling process and have noticed a lot of people on here saying to use raw shrimp. How do you know when it is time to take the shrimp out?

Cool thanx! I have been doing a lot of reading on the cycling process and have noticed a lot of people on here saying to use raw shrimp. How do you know when it is time to take the shrimp out?