Newbie - hello all

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pearsont74

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello....Im a newbie on here.
I am slowly building up my equipment to set up a saltwater tank...I will start it out with fish and then convert it into a reef.
I am debating whether or not to start it up with a 30gal tank i already have or wait until I can find and afford the 90gal I want.
I also am lookin at this skimmer
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=40959

any advise will be good.
So far I have a Amiricle wet dry filter, I believe it is the maxi reef model. LOL its a start.
I am very experienced with freshwater (have had basically everything you can have....the best was my discus :lol: ) and some experience with salt but that was years ago and Im sure alot has changed in the last 5-10 yrs.
This looks like a good fourm so I look forward to reading and posting more on this :)

Welcome to AA :wave:

The only advice I can offer is, don't rush. If your goal is to have a 90 gal, then I would hold out for that tank. Although you can always upgrade, you will save yourself a ton in only buying equipment once. The same goes for your plans for a reef setup. Save yourself some money and keep "reef" in mind when buying your equipment. You'll be glad you did. :D

Yup...thats what Im doing...I jsut thought I could start out with the 30 to start getting water to cycle
Im building a stand for the 90 that i want :) and the wet/dry i have is rated for up to 150 and that skimmer is rated at about 125-150
lightin is the only thing Im not sure on, Im thinkin of building a custom hood with a retro fit with PC lights and leave room to add one or 2 MH

Exactly. The bigger the tank, the more forgiving it will be when it comes to water chemistry, as well as being less limited on your stocking.